Dec 04

Tennis Otago Christmas Holiday Programme

Christmas holiday programme snip

Back by popular demand!

For tennis players and aspiring tennis players aged 6-16

When: Dec 18-22, Jan 15-19, Jan 22-26

9am-1pm daily

Where: Logan Park Tennis Centre

Cost: $60 per week or $15 per day (sign up for as many days as you like)

Catering for all levels from beginners to more seasoned players

Limited spaces – sign up now to avoid disappointment!

Come and play tennis under the summer sun in a fun, supportive environment

Online sign-up only via the following link:


Nov 22

Otago Teams Named for Southern Region Open Teams Event

Tennis Otago logo on shirt

Tennis Otago congratulates the following players who have been named in Otago teams to play in the Southern Region Open Teams Event being held in Queenstown and Oamaru this weekend. This weekend’s ties form part of a two-leg home and away series that will be completed in Dunedin in late February.

Otago A Team (to play Southern Lakes, North Otago and Southland in Queenstown on Saturday and Sunday, manager Fraser Richardson):

Zoe Berryman
Rileigh Fields
Georgia Hume
Megan Rogers
Libby Scott

Jeff Elliotte
Phil Mirfin
Paddy Ou
Carlos Reid
Mitchell Sizemore
Charlie Tomlinson

Otago B team (to play South Canterbury and North Otago in Oamaru this Saturday):

Eliza Booth
Ilana Goossens
Maren Kronsbein
Bridget Thomas
Annalise Wilson

Ayoub Ahmad
Thomas Chiang
Ryan Eggers
Lachie Kenneally
Mat McCutcheon
Gavin Mockford

Nov 14

FREE Coaching Session for Thursday Secondary Schools Competition Players

Sec Schools Coaching Poster Nov 2017

Register via the following link by Friday 17 November:

Nov 03

NZ Masters Games

Calling on all 35+ year old tennis players: get your early bird entries in for the NZ Masters Games tennis tournament being held in Dunedin from February 9-11. The tournament includes singles, men’s/women’s doubles and mixed doubles.

Early bird entries close at the end of November and save you $30 off the standard entry fee, so get you entry in now!

As a registered competitor you receive:

  • The right to participate in national standard, professionally organised sports competitions
  • Free medical treatment for Games sports related injuries
  • A chance to win a New Zealand Masters Games medal
  • A full Games pack
  • A souvenir Games Handbook full of Games info and some great deals from local businesses
  • Free and exclusive access to 9 nights of top quality Games Village entertainment
  • Free entry to the opening and closing ceremonies
  • Free entry to all Games sport venues

Contact Ian Moore on 021 2083420 for details.

A4 Poster Template

Nov 03

Otago 14s, 12s and 10s Teams Named for Southern Junior Teams Event

Congratulations to the following players who have been selected for the Otago 14s, 12s and 10s teams that will play in the Southern Junior Teams Event in Dunedin from November 10-12.

14s Boys: Ayoub Ahmad, Mason Bell, Hamish Faulks, Daniel Lund

14s Girls: Makayla Ramage, Pippa Sherriff, Penny Temple, Grace Togneri

12s Boys: Mitchell Green, Jerry Dolan, Sam Sherburd, Ben Sinclair

12s Girls: Charlotte Byers, Claudia Christie, Mya Haigh, Ella Richardson

10s Boys: Esteban Garcia, Harvey O’Neill, Leon Pollyn, Jordy Sherriff

10s Girls: Aminah Ahmad, Molly Gaffaney, Lucy Morrison, Molly Stumbles

Tennis Otago shirt image


Nov 02

Southern Primary and Intermediate Schools Championship

-2 (1)

On Thursday 9 November, Otago will once again host the Southern Primary and Intermediate Schools Championship. Athletes qualify through their home Association, with each Southern Association allocated one-fifth of the available places at the tournament. The remaining handful of places are awarded to the next highest ranked athletes across the entire Southern region.

Congratulations to all athletes who have qualified – Click here for the Acceptance List


Oct 13

Otago University Team Muguruza Takes Out Women’s Shield

Team Muguruza, representing Otago University, was the deserved winner of the Women’s Shield competition played at the Edgar Centre on Tuesday evenings over the last six weeks.

The competition brought together the cream of women’s tennis in Otago with a strong contingent of visiting overseas players giving the league a cosmopolitan feel.

Each of the two teams that faced off in the decider had an American player in its ranks: Isabella Stone led the charge for Team Muguruza; Carly Jefferson looked the goods for Team Wozniacki.

The final was nicely poised after a closely fought doubles that went the way of Stone and her partner Bridget Thomas 6-3 7-5. Team Wozniacki would have to prevail in both singles rubbers to win the day, but it wasn’t to be as Thomas used her powerful groundstrokes to edge out Stacey Hopwood and Stone did the job on her compatriot Jefferson.

Many thanks to Sonia Alexanian for convening the Women’s Shield. The competition resumes in early March when new teams will be formed. To those players leaving town before then, good luck in your future tennis endeavours, we will miss you!


Oct 12

Otago 16s Team to Play in Southern Junior Teams Event

Congratulations to the following players who will be playing for Otago in the 16s Southern Junior Teams Event at Logan Park this weekend (14-15 October):

Erin Chittock
Kayla Godkin
Maren Kronsbein
Annalise Wilson

Angus Faulks
Bailey Godkin
Zane Gray
Trey Russell

Otago will first face a strong Southland team from 8.45am on Saturday. South Canterbury will be a formidable foe after lunch. The Otago team will then complete its campaign with a tie against North Otago on Sunday morning. Southern Lakes was unable to enter a team and will be missed.

Each tie will comprise four singles matches, one boys doubles, one girls doubles, and two mixed doubles.

If wet, play will move indoors to the Edgar Centre.

Oct 02

Tennis Otago Holiday Programme

Tennis Otago is running a Tennis Otago Holiday Programme for children aged 6-12 during the second week of the upcoming school holidays.

The programme will be offered at the Logan Park Tennis Centre at 33 Logan Park Drive from Monday 9 October to Friday 13 October from 9am-1pm each day.

Unfortunately the programme is unable to cater for under 6 year olds at this stage.

The cost of the holiday programme is amazing value at $50 for the whole week, or $12.50 per day if you prefer to sign up for between one and four days. You can register for as many days as you like.

The programme will be overseen by qualified tennis coach Mat McCutcheon.

Sign up now for our Holiday Programme by clicking on the below link and completing the sign-up form. programme image

Sep 25

Junior Tennis Fundraising Quiz Night

Many thanks to the following businesses that supported our successful Junior Tennis Fundraising Quiz Night held at The Kensington on Thursday 14 September.

Everyone had a great time and the funds raised (around $1500) will be used to support junior tennis.

Our supporters were:

New World Mosgiel
Paper Plus Mosgiel and Dunedin
Monarch Wildlife Cruises
Countdown Mosgiel
Emersons Brewery
Taireri Gorge Railway
akB Conference Management
Wal’s Fun Land
Air Fitness
Life Pharmacy

Quiz night

Older posts «